Realtors Choice Home Inspections

Choice Home Inspections

Home inspections shouldn’t bring uncertainty to the home buying process. I strive to inform, educate, and empower the home buyer to feel confident that the right decisions are being made for your family.

Proudly serving central Virginia including Charlottesville, Orange, Locust Grove, Palmyra, Waynesboro, Fredericksburg, Lake Anna, Louisa, and everywhere in between.

Radon

Services

I have gained a large amount of knowledge from my careers in engineering and construction as a Structural Engineer. As a result, I am proud to offer a variety of professional and quality services to fit you in your time of need.

House Front 2
Residential Inspections

Fully encompassing inspections performed by a nationally accredited and licensed experienced inspector. Specifics include foundations, crawlspaces, basements, exteriors, interiors, major systems and appliances, mechanical, electrical, plumbing, roof, and attics.

coffeehouse, bar, shop
Commercial Inspections

Comprehensive commercial inspections ensuring that all systems are safely operating, supporting structures are in proper working order, and the space is up to date on the latest accepted standards for safe and functioning occupancy.

thermal
Specialty Inspections

Some of the more specialized inspection offerings are structural, thermal imaging, pools and spas, irrigation and sprinkler system, radon inspections, and more.

planning, housebuilding, pre-project
Structural Design

Offering a wide range of civil structural engineering services including residential inspections, manufactured home inspections, residential renovations or remodels, retaining wall design, construction administration, and permitting.

Who I Am

Alex Rayfield, P.E.

April 27, 2011 was a day unlike any other I’ve had on this Earth thus far. On that day over 200 tornadoes touched down in my home state of Alabama killing over 300 people. The worst one occurred right in my backyard of Tuscaloosa with winds topping 190 mph and over 1.5 miles wide. It was this natural disaster that really sparked a turning point in my life and helped give me direction with my schooling. I took this as a starting block for trying to help educate those in “tornado alley” and raise awareness of the devastating effects that these natural disasters can have on a city, community, and families alike.

Today, I’m helping homeowners understand where they live, why the structure in which they call “home” is built the way it is, and why such stringent rules and codes are in place and enforced. I help bring peace-of-mind to each homeowner I work with so they can sleep soundly in a structure that they trust will keep them and their loved ones safe.

Fresh Facebook Feed

Check this feed periodically for important home maintenance tips and tricks!

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

Thank you so much for this wonderful honor, Orange County Chamber of Commerce, Inc.! It’s always a pleasure working with The Chamber and all its members!

Looking forward to another great year in Orange County and with The Chamber!

#structuralengineering #homeinspection #community #orangecountyvaNovember Business of the Month, Choice Home Inspections
Alex Rayfield, owner of Choice Home Inspections, accepts his certificate from Judi Cooper
Our Business of the Month is Choice Home Inspections. Hardworking, honest, reliable – these are just a few of the adjectives used to describe owner Alex Rayfield. A structural engineer, Alex and his team provide thorough, detailed inspections for their clients. Very active with the Chamber, Alex can always be counted on to give his time and energy to help with our events. Please join us in congratulating Alex and the team at Choice Home Inspections!
Proudly serving central Virginia including Charlottesville, Orange, Locust Grove, Palmyra, Waynesboro, Fredericksburg, Lake Anna, Louisa, and everywhere in between.
Choice Home Inspections
(334) 221-5302
alex@vachoiceinspections.com
vachoiceinspections.com/
#occcstrong #orangevachamber #supportorangevabiz #occc #OrangeCountyVA #virginiasmallbusiness #loveorangeva #supportbizinorange
... See MoreSee Less

Thank you so much for this wonderful honor, Orange County Chamber of Commerce, Inc.! It’s always a pleasure working with The Chamber and all its members! 

Looking forward to another great year in Orange County and with The Chamber!

#structuralengineering #homeinspection #community #orangecountyva

Comment on Facebook

Awesome congrats buddy you’ve earned it.

Congratulations Alex!

Congrats brother!!! Super proud of you.

Way to go Alex!! (Past client, 21’)

Congratulations!!

Congratulations!

Nice!

View more comments

Thank you, Earlysville Nests, Helen Ascoli, and Angie Dotson, for featuring me and my company this week! It is always a pleasure working with y'all.

Please do not hesitate to reach out with any questions regarding home inspections or structural engineering. We will be more than happy to help!

334-221-5302
alex@vachoiceinspections.com
www.vachoiceinspections.comWe are proud to bring you the best and brightest in and around Earlysville each week. This week's highlight is Choice Home Inspections. We live in the best place....with the best people. Enjoy, The Best of Nests....Volume 78.
... See MoreSee Less

Thank you, Earlysville Nests, Helen Ascoli, and Angie Dotson, for featuring me and my company this week! It is always a pleasure working with yall. 

Please do not hesitate to reach out with any questions regarding home inspections or structural engineering. We will be more than happy to help!

334-221-5302
alex@vachoiceinspections.com
www.vachoiceinspections.com

Thank you to The Hogan Group Charlottesville office for allowing us into your office this morning to give a presentation on our offerings!

#structuralengineering #homeinspection #chi
... See MoreSee Less

Thank you to The Hogan Group Charlottesville office for allowing us into your office this morning to give a presentation on our offerings!

#structuralengineering #homeinspection #chi
Load more
My wife and I had found the home we wanted. We received three recommendations for home inspectors. Fortunately, we contacted Realtors Choice Home Inspections. Alex was professional, polite, and thorough. He was on time for the appointment, stayed focused on the job and kept us well informed. The report was finished ahead of time and he then followed up to ensure we were satisfied with his work. We highly recommend Realtors Choice.
Joe and Emily J. (May 5, 2020)
Locust Grove
We chose to purchase a house that we knew would be in need of some repairs. Having a thorough home inspection was absolutely crucial to us, as we have a limited budget and would have needed to walk away from the “as is” purchase if it was discovered that there was a major repair outside of our budget. We chose Alex with Realtor’s Choice, and were so happy with our decision! His inspection was incredibly in depth. He answered all of our questions before, during and after the inspection. We were able to go along with him as he pointed out the various things he wanted to bring to our attention. Alex arrived to the house before us to begin his assessment, and was there to greet us when we arrived to the inspection. He was very polite and professional. His thorough explanations have given us a peace of mind that is invaluable during the home buying process. The inspection report that we received after the fact arrived quickly, and included all of the details that were discussed during the inspection, including photos! We are now able to buy our new home with confidence. Thank you Alex!
Julie H. (May 10, 2020)
Palmyra
As a first-time home buyer, I can truly say that working with Alex was a pleasure. I will refer him to anybody looking for a good-quality home inspector. Super thorough and professional. He went above and beyond. I will always use Alex for future home inspections.
Emily L. (May 29, 2020)
Waynesboro
We are so pleased with Alex's thorough inspection. The care and passion he brought to his work was evident in his finished report and his meticulous explanations. He was prompt, professional, and polite and we would gladly use his services again and will surely recommend him to our friends.
Ethan & Kelly B. (June 16, 2020)
Warm Springs

Check Me on Google

Proven quality by giving the client what they want and they’re proud to talk about it!

Thomas Eanes
Thomas Eanes
14:56 07 May 22
This was our first home purchase and Alex was very professional throughout the entire process. During the inspection, he was very thorough and took the time to discuss the findings and recommend remedies with us. We would definitely do business with him again! Thank you Alex and God bless!
Em Hum
Em Hum
23:39 02 May 22
I highly recommend Alex Rayfield for your home inspection. He did an incredibly detailed job. In the crawlspace, his expertise as an engineer was clearly evident, and he noted many things my husband and I couldn't see ourselves. Just a few examples are that he was able to uncover water and pest damage. He showed us columns that were not sufficiently supported underneath. He also showed us how areas of the floor were not supported and would eventually sag or fall through. He confirmed our fears that the foundation was cracked and undermined. I was very surprised when we got our inspection report that he even used a drone to photograph and document the state of the roof!Alex communicated about the house honestly. He made it clear that his priority was helping us make the right decision for us!Not only did he communicate clearly, but he communicated with us during the whole inspection, explaining exactly what he was seeing and why it mattered. He was also willing to give us ballpark estimates on how much repairs could cost. We've heard that not all inspectors are willing to do that.If you get Alex Rayfield as your home inspector, consider yourself lucky, and know that you're in good hands! If we need an inspector in the future, he's the person we're going with, without a doubt!
Ron Vance
Ron Vance
16:16 30 Apr 22
They were responsive, thorough, and went above and beyond the initial inspection. Highly recommended.
tania sanchez
tania sanchez
21:41 30 Mar 22
Alex Rayfield was amazing to work with. I definitely recommend and trust his expertise. He performed my house inspection. He was super thorough and took the time to go over the photos and his findings. I received the inspection report that same evening. Great company to work with.
Katie Keller
Katie Keller
13:56 01 Mar 22
Alex was so professional and explained everything about our home inspection in layman’s terms. I appreciated his passion for safety before we move into our new home! Good communication before the inspection and coordinated with our real estate agent for testing that needed to be done prior to the inspection, as well. Nice guy!
Arnold Pent
Arnold Pent
03:51 17 Feb 22
Alex Rayfield and his team have done two large building inspections for us so far. Their work is very thorough and extremely helpful prior to closing on a sale. The photography of the specific areas where work is needed, is excellent, revealing in detail what work is needed. Also, their fees are fair and worth every dollar spent.Arnold Pent, Pres. Stockhome Trading Corp.
Revolution Imagery
Revolution Imagery
15:15 19 Jan 22
I had the opportunity to work with Choice Home Inspections on a commercial project in Orange County, VA. We needed aerial, drone images of a commercial building roof. Alex is top notch! He is extremely knowledgeable, professional, courteous of his clients and co workers and provides premium services for a good value. I look forward to working with Alex again in the future and would definitely recommend his home, and commercial inspection services to all!
peggy Law
peggy Law
21:21 18 Jan 22
Alex Rayfield was extremely thorough and informative. I highly recommend him for an inspection.
Sally Day
Sally Day
17:34 17 Jan 22
Alex did the inspection for Service Dogs of Virginia and was beyond professional. He is knowledgeable, thorough, curious, and a problem solver. If you don't use him for your home or business inspection, you will be sorry!
James Turner
James Turner
17:28 14 Jan 22
I have had Alex inspect two of my properties. With each inspection he is incredibly thorough and informative. Even when I had questions after the inspection upon moving in, he was there via text/facetime to guide me through to a solution. He is definitely a trusted advisor for my family. I will always recommend him to friends and family.
Tricia Traugott
Tricia Traugott
17:15 13 Jan 22
Alex is a pleasure to work with and is attentive to answering home buyers questions without rushing them. Super important, especially with first time buyers! Happy to recommend him!
JoAnna Rose Von Arb
JoAnna Rose Von Arb
16:22 09 Jan 22
As a realtor you need a good home inspector, Alex's knowledge and attention to detail provides confidence with his clients, in knowing what is going on with the home he inspects.
Laura Sensabaugh
Laura Sensabaugh
12:52 24 Nov 21
Great communication. Professional service. We received a very thorough inspection, took time to explain everything that was on the report and how it could impact us as a homeowner. Excellent customer service. Highly recommend.
Tim Jaszczuk
Tim Jaszczuk
00:52 13 Nov 21
we were so pleased at the honest, professional , reasonably priced service that we immediately offered to use our contact info for a reference for alex and his company . we got such a honest yet professional and down to earth feeling from alex right away - he guided us through the inspection details and what each item meant.. Highly recommend !!
Justin Edelstein
Justin Edelstein
19:50 26 Oct 21
Detailed and accurate home inspection report. Easy to work with, arrived early, responsive. Highly recommend Alex.
Rachel Way
Rachel Way
01:36 02 Sep 21
Due to the owners requiring a quick closing process, we needed an inspection completed and a report delivered in as short a time as possible. Our realtor reached out to Alex and he was at the house for the inspection the next day and delivered the report the day after! We weren't able to be physically present for the inspection since we're currently in another state, but, through Facetime, we were able to walk the inspection with Alex and ask any questions we had. Alex took the time to answer our questions, give us feedback on what he was seeing, and provide recommendations on repairing any issues he found. After the inspection was complete, he gave us a rundown of his findings and provided his contact information in case we have any questions after we move in or need recommendations on local contractors. This process went incredibly smoothly and it's all due to Alex's professionalism, expertise, and organization. Additionally, he has a calm demeanor and is excellent at explaining potential issues in an understandable way to someone who doesn't have his depth of knowledge. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone requiring a home inspection.
Zack Engelmann
Zack Engelmann
01:55 17 Aug 21
Alex was great! Super detail oriented and took the time to explain everything before leaving the job site. He also provided a very detailed report recapping everything that was discussed.
Mohamad Khalifa
Mohamad Khalifa
15:13 26 Jul 21
Alex was very professional and thorough during our home inspection. He is clearly very knowledgeable and was able to address all our questions and provide peace of mind. We're extremely pleased and grateful and highly recommend his services!
See All Reviews
js_loader
My wife and I had found the home we wanted. We received three recommendations for home inspectors. Fortunately, we contacted Realtors Choice Home Inspections. Alex was professional, polite, and thorough. He was on time for the appointment, stayed focused on the job and kept us well informed. The report was finished ahead of time and he then followed up to ensure we were satisfied with his work. We highly recommend Realtors Choice.
Joe and Emily J. (May 5, 2020)
Locust Grove
We chose to purchase a house that we knew would be in need of some repairs. Having a thorough home inspection was absolutely crucial to us, as we have a limited budget and would have needed to walk away from the “as is” purchase if it was discovered that there was a major repair outside of our budget. We chose Alex with Realtor’s Choice, and were so happy with our decision! His inspection was incredibly in depth. He answered all of our questions before, during and after the inspection. We were able to go along with him as he pointed out the various things he wanted to bring to our attention. Alex arrived to the house before us to begin his assessment, and was there to greet us when we arrived to the inspection. He was very polite and professional. His thorough explanations have given us a peace of mind that is invaluable during the home buying process. The inspection report that we received after the fact arrived quickly, and included all of the details that were discussed during the inspection, including photos! We are now able to buy our new home with confidence. Thank you Alex!
Julie H. (May 10, 2020)
Palmyra
As a first-time home buyer, I can truly say that working with Alex was a pleasure. I will refer him to anybody looking for a good-quality home inspector. Super thorough and professional. He went above and beyond. I will always use Alex for future home inspections.
Emily L. (May 29, 2020)
Waynesboro
We are so pleased with Alex's thorough inspection. The care and passion he brought to his work was evident in his finished report and his meticulous explanations. He was prompt, professional, and polite and we would gladly use his services again and will surely recommend him to our friends.
Ethan & Kelly B. (June 16, 2020)
Warm Springs